

Council (Annual Meeting)

Wednesday 17 May 2017 at 11.30 am

Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend



ANNUAL COUNCIL

Wednesday 17 May 2017, at 11.30 am Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor Denise Fox)
THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Anne Murphy)

1	Beauchief & Greenhill Ward Andy Nash Bob Pullin Richard Shaw	10	East Ecclesfield Ward Pauline Andrews Andy Bainbridge Steve Wilson	19	Nether Edge and Sharrow Ward Nasima Akther Mohammad Maroof Alison Teal
2	Beighton Ward Helen Mirfin-Boukouris Chris Rosling-Josephs lan Saunders	11	Ecclesall Ward Roger Davison Shaffaq Mohammed Paul Scriven	20	Park and Arbourthorne Ward Julie Dore Ben Miskell Jack Scott
3	Birley Ward Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	12	Firth Park Ward Abdul Khayum Alan Law Abtisam Mohamed	21	Richmond Ward Mike Drabble Dianne Hurst Peter Rippon
4	Broomhill and Sharrow Vale Ward Michelle Cook Kieran Harpham Magid Magid	13	Fulwood Ward Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Cliff Woodcraft	22	Shiregreen & Brightside Ward Dawn Dale Peter Price Garry Weatherall
5	Burngreave Ward Jackie Drayton Talib Hussain Mark Jones	14	Gleadless Valley Ward Lewis Dagnall Cate McDonald Chris Peace	23	Southey Ward Mike Chaplin Tony Damms Jayne Dunn
6	City Ward Douglas Johnson Robert Murphy Moya O'Rourke	15	Graves Park Ward Ian Auckland Sue Auckland Steve Ayris	24	Stannington Ward David Baker Penny Baker Vickie Priestley
7	Crookes and Crosspool Ward Craig Gamble Pugh Adam Hanrahan Anne Murphy	16	Hillsborough Ward Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond Josie Paszek	25	Stocksbridge & Upper Don Ward Jack Clarkson Richard Crowther Keith Davis
8	<i>Darnall Ward</i> Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea Zahira Naz	17	Manor Castle Ward Lisa Banes Terry Fox Pat Midgley	26	Walkley Ward Olivia Blake Ben Curran Neale Gibson
9	Dore & Totley Ward Joe Otten Colin Ross Martin Smith	18	Mosborough Ward David Barker Tony Downing Gail Smith	27	West Ecclesfield Ward John Booker Adam Hurst Zoe Sykes
				28	Woodhouse Ward Mick Rooney

Jackie Satur Paul Wood John Mothersole Chief Executive

Contact: Paul Robinson, Democratic Services
Tel: 0114 2734029
paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at www.sheffield.gov.uk. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Recording is allowed at Council meetings under the direction of the Chair of the meeting. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

COUNCIL AGENDA 17 MAY 2017

Order of Business

- 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE
- 2. TO ELECT A LORD MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING MUNICIPAL YEAR
- 3. TO MOVE A VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING LORD MAYOR AND CONSORT
- 4. TO ELECT A DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING MUNICIPAL YEAR

(NB The meeting will adjourn following the appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor and reconvene at 2.00 p.m.)

- 5. TO APPOINT A LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE ENSUING MUNICIPAL YEAR
- 6. TO RECEIVE NOTIFICATION OF CABINET AND CABINET ADVISER APPOINTMENTS, THE LEADER'S SCHEME OF DELEGATION FOR THE DISCHARGE OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS, AND SHADOW CABINET APPOINTMENTS FOR THE ENSUING MUNICIPAL YEAR

Background report of the Chief Executive outlining the constitutional requirements regarding the discharge of Executive functions.

7. ESTABLISHMENT OF COUNCIL COMMITTEES FOR 2017-18 AND APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THOSE COMMITTEES

Report of the Chief Executive.

8. APPOINTMENTS TO COUNCIL PANELS, GROUPS ETC AND TO EXTERNAL BODIES FOR 2017-18

To agree appointments in accordance with details to be circulated at the meeting.

9. ARRANGEMENTS FOR COUNCIL MEETINGS IN 2017-18

To (a) consider a report of the Chief Executive on proposals to review how the Council meetings operate and (b) agree a programme of meetings of the Council in the Municipal Year 2017/18 and the formula for the order in which Notices of Motion will be listed on the Council Summons.

Chief Executive

Dated this 9 day of May 2017

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 5 July 2017 at the Town Hall